fat jon is a member of a progressive hip hop outfit hailing from cincinnati ohio called the five deez. in this group he is an emcee/producer/dj. they were first introduced to the world market with their debut 12″ “bluelight special”. they have since gone on to produce over 50 more releases. their critically acclaimed introductory full length “koolmotor” (counterflow) hit shelves in december 2001. hip hop infinity.com summed it up best, “if the five deez continue making music like this, they are looking to establish themselves as the next big thing.” in 2002 to support koolmotor, five deez toured the world extensively hitting france, germany, austria, the czech republic, switzerland, denmark, belgium, holland, poland, sweden, japan and the usa. at the end of 2002, five deez signed with german mega-label k7! their album “kinkynasti” was released in the fall of 2003. they went on to tour the world with a new sound they call transdimensional space funk! 2006 saw the release of their album, “kommunicator”.

fat jon also started his own record label (ample soul) which has released material from the five deez, and some other of his projects as well as the Afro Samurai soundtrack produced by none other than the Rza.

fat jon has also stayed quite busy by producing several solo offerings. following up his 2001 instrumental opus “humanoid erotica”, fat jon released two instrumental albums in 2002, “wave motion” (mush) and “lightweight heavy” (dimid). he was featured in urb magazine as a member of its next 100, and was also highlighted by a feature story in billboard magazine. he now lives in frankfurt and is also half of the numerical super group 3582, where he provides vocals to lush soulful soundscapes. their 1st ep was titled “the living soul” (hum drums) and their 2nd ep, “situational ethics” (hum drums). fat jon also recorded a breakthrough album called “afterthought” which was released on ample soul/libyus music. fat jon also was part of the production team which scored music for the hit tv show “samurai champloo” which has become a modern day classic!!!! fat jon followed these albums with the beautiful “repaint tomorrow”. it was released on P-Vine/ample soul along with his album “hundred eight stars”.

His latest full-length album is “Rapture Kontrolle” which is a continuation of his Maurice Galactica personality.

fat jon has formed other groups along the way like Rebel Clique, which consists of him and Amleset Solomon. This group has released two albums, “Unique Connection” and “Still Curious” and has a new one on the way called “Broken Silence”.

fat jon has also collaborated with his fellow five deez producer sonic to create the group, “Beautiful Killing Machine” whose self-titled debut album was well received and released in 2009.

fat jon has also produced a collaborative project with nettwerk production’s styrofoam. The album is called “the same channel” . fat jon has also toured the world with electronic minimalist producer pole. after meeting in berlin, they recorded original material which appeared on pole’s album “pole” (mute).

Complete discography:

dyslexic ep
stasis ep
wave motion lp
lightweight heavy lp
afterthought lp
departure (soundtrack)
impression (soundtrack)
hundred eight stars lp
repaint tomorrow lp
tephlon funk: the free tape (soundtrack)
god’s fifth wish lp
tephlon funk: the dope tape (soundtrack)
bathroom mix cd
gravis cold love mix cd